WavelengthScalp
Menu

Devices assessed · not medical advice

Laser caps for hair growth, read against the record

Four FDA-cleared devices, their real 510(k) records, dated store prices, and the two sham-controlled trials the whole category leans on — with every claim attributed. Information, not medical advice.

On this page
Price against light sources

Drawn from the table below — list prices read from each vendor’s store on 23 September 2026, and the light-source counts the vendors publish. Dollars per emitter is our division of those two numbers; it says nothing about regrowth.

illumiflow 272 Pro$899272 diodes · ≈ $3.31/emitter
Theradome PRO LH80$99580 lasers · ≈ $12.44/emitter
iRestore Essential$799120 diodes · ≈ $6.66/emitter
Kiierr 272 DualWave$1,499272 diodes · ≈ $5.51/emitter

A laser cap is a wearable dome of red-light diodes — cap, comb or helmet — sold as a drug-free way to regrow thinning hair — $799 to $1,499 for the four devices in our table, with bigger siblings running to $2,699. The honest one-paragraph summary: red light at 655 nm has moved hair counts in a small number of sham-controlled trials, no trial has ever compared one consumer brand against another, and the phrase “FDA-cleared” on every box is a paperwork status, not a verdict on whether the thing works. Everything below is built from the trial record, FDA's own 510(k) database and each vendor's store page, each read on 23 September 2026 and dated in place.

The assessments and their order were written from the public record.

What the trials measured — and what they didn't

Two randomized, sham-controlled trials anchor the whole category. In Lanzafame 2013 (Lasers in Surgery and Medicine), 44 men with androgenetic alopecia used a 655 nm helmet-style unit at home, every other day for 16 weeks, against an identical-looking sham fitted with plain red incandescent lights. Hair counts in the treated group's tattoo-marked test patch rose by about 67% on average against about 28% in the sham group — a roughly 39-point gap the authors reported as statistically significant, over roughly four months.

“LLLT of the scalp at 655 nm significantly improved hair counts in males with androgenetic alopecia.” — Lanzafame et al., Lasers in Surgery and Medicine, October 2013

Jimenez 2014 (American Journal of Clinical Dermatology) pooled four randomized sham-device trials of a 655 nm lasercomb used three times a week for 26 weeks. Among the 225 people in the efficacy analysis, terminal hair density rose by 18.4 to 25.7 hairs per cm² in treated groups against 1.6 to 9.4 with the sham — and the authors themselves opened by noting that commercial devices had been promoted with “little peer-reviewed data on their efficacy.”

Hold on to what those numbers are: hairs counted in a small marked patch, over four to six months, in trials that were modest in size and industry-linked. Neither trial tested any of the caps sold below — clearance paperwork lets a new device ride on an older one's equivalence, so no brand on this page has published a head-to-head trial against another brand, or against a pharmacy bottle of minoxidil. A 2023 Bayesian network meta-analysis (Feldman et al., Frontiers in Medicine) estimated laser-comb treatment added about 18.75 terminal hairs per cm² in men and 16.62 in women at 24 weeks across pooled trials — while its own first authors work for a supplement maker whose product it also ranked, which is the kind of footnote this category requires.

“FDA-cleared” is not “FDA-approved”

Every device below is FDA-cleared, and every vendor prints it in large type. Clearance means the maker filed a 510(k) — in FDA's words, “a premarket submission made to FDA to demonstrate that the device to be marketed is as safe and effective, that is, substantially equivalent, to a legally marketed device.” The agency checks sameness against a predicate device; it does not run or require the efficacy review a new drug gets. So “FDA-cleared” tells you a filing exists and the device class is low-risk — it does not tell you the cap regrows hair. The K-numbers in the table are each device's actual clearance record, checked in FDA's public 510(k) database on 23 September 2026; the long version of the cleared-vs-approved distinction is its own reading.

How we assess a cap (since efficacy can't be compared)

With zero comparative trials, ranking caps by “results” would be fiction. What can be compared honestly, and is, in the table: the verified 510(k) record (does the brand's own name appear in FDA's database, and when), the list price on the vendor's store the day we read it, the light-source count the vendor publishes, and the session schedule the vendor tells buyers to keep. Price per emitter — our division of two of those columns — is a value measure only. Where a vendor's claim could not be verified anywhere independent, the table says so instead of repeating it.

Four laser devices, in our order of value for a first buyer — list prices and counts read from each vendor's store on 23 September 2026; clearance records from FDA's 510(k) database the same day. Intro prices change often; treat these as a dated snapshot, not a promise.

DeviceFormLight sourcesList price (23 Sep 2026)510(k) recordVendor schedule
illumiflow 272 Procap272 diodes$899K162071 (2017) + K173843 (2018), filed by Eglobal, LLCnot stated on the page we could read
Theradome PRO LH80helmet80 lasers$995 (struck from $1,428.99)K171775 (2018); first helmet K122950 (2013)20 min, 2× a week
iRestore Essentialhelmet120 diodes$799 (variants to $1,024)K151662 (2016), Freedom Laser Therapynot stated on the page we could read
Kiierr 272 DualWavecap272 diodes$1,499K181878 (2018) covers the Kiierr 272not stated on the page we could read

illumiflow 272 Pro — the value read

At $899 for 272 diodes, the illumiflow 272 Pro is the cheapest full-coverage cap of the four — about $3.31 per emitter, half of anything else in the table. Its clearance story needs one honest asterisk: FDA's database shows the illumiflow caps cleared under Eglobal, LLC (K162071 in February 2017, K173843 in January 2018) rather than under a company named illumiflow, which is a normal OEM arrangement but worth knowing when the marketing says “FDA-cleared” in the brand's own voice. illumiflow also sells a $1,199 272 DualWave, a $1,399 302 Flex and a $1,699 312 Ultra; nothing in the public record shows the dearer models doing more for a scalp than the base one, so the entry cap is the one we'd point a curious buyer at.

A clinician, not a checkout page, should confirm a device suits your kind of hair loss first.

Theradome PRO LH80 — the long-record helmet

Theradome has the oldest paper trail here: a laser-helmet 510(k) from June 2013 (K122950) and the current PRO LH80 cleared in January 2018 (K171775). The store lists the PRO at $995, struck through from $1,428.99, with a schedule of 20 minutes twice a week — the lightest time commitment on this page. Two claims from its marketing deserve their own weights: “clinically proven” and “zero side effects” are the vendor's words, not a regulator's or an independent trial's, and the published trials behind the category reported an absence of adverse events over months, not a guarantee of none ever. Its 80 lasers are the fewest in the table — at $12.44 per emitter you are paying for the helmet form and the brand's history, not for coverage.

A clinician, not a checkout page, should confirm a device suits your kind of hair loss first.

iRestore Essential — the cheapest way in

The iRestore Essential is the lowest list price of the four at $799 (the same store shows bundle variants to $1,024), with 120 diodes and a clearance record under Freedom Laser Therapy: K151662 in January 2016, with the larger Professional 282 (K183417, 2019) and Elite (K222081, 2022) cleared later. Those bigger siblings cost $1,499 and $2,699 on the same store — and here the store itself needs an asterisk: on the day we read it, a second live listing offered the Professional at $1,195. Two prices for one helmet on one store is exactly why every number on this page carries its date.

A clinician, not a checkout page, should confirm a device suits your kind of hair loss first.

Kiierr 272 DualWave — the premium ask

Kiierr's 272 DualWave lists at $1,499 — $600 over the illumiflow cap with the same 272-diode count — and its 312 DualWave at $2,199 is the most expensive cap this page tracks (only iRestore's $2,699 Elite helmet asks more). The 510(k) record (K181878, September 2018) covers the Kiierr 272 and 148. “DualWave” refers to the vendor's claim of a second wavelength; we could not find an independent trial testing whether the second wavelength adds anything for hair, so the premium buys a specification, not an evidenced outcome. If you want a Kiierr, know what the extra $600 is and isn't buying.

A clinician, not a checkout page, should confirm a device suits your kind of hair loss first.

The Capillus question

Capillus is the most-advertised name in laser caps, and it is not linked anywhere on this site. The record explains why we treat its category's advertising with gloves: the National Advertising Division referred Capillus LLC's advertising for the Capillus 82 laser cap to the FTC after the company “was unwilling to make additional modifications to its advertisements in 2018” in line with NAD's recommendations. The FTC's staff closing letter of 16 June 2020 declined to recommend enforcement, citing among other factors “Capillus's discontinuation or modification of certain claims” — and added that closing the file “is not to be construed as a determination that a violation of law did not occur.” That letter is public on ftc.gov. Nothing in it says any cap fails; it says the category's advertising has already been through a referral once, which is reason enough to read every brochure — including the four above — against the trial record instead of at face value.

What owning one actually asks of you

The trial protocols are the honest preview of ownership: every other day for 16 weeks in Lanzafame 2013, three sessions a week for 26 weeks in the Jimenez 2014 pooled trials. Vendors quote lighter schedules — Theradome says 20 minutes twice a week — but nobody has published evidence that less light than the trials used performs like the trials. Plan on months of unglamorous consistency before an effect could even be measurable, and on the effect not maintaining itself if the sessions stop. A cap that ends up in a drawer by week six is the most expensive outcome in this category.

The cheaper option with stronger evidence

Before $899 leaves your account, the anchor: generic topical minoxidil from any pharmacy went through actual FDA drug approval — an efficacy review no laser cap has faced — and costs a small fraction of any device here. Prescription finasteride, through a prescriber, is the same approval-grade tier. We'd still hand most first-time buyers that sentence before any device. The drugs have their own trade-offs and their own specialist sites; the point of this page is narrower: a device should be compared against that baseline, not against doing nothing.

Who might reasonably buy one

A defensible laser-cap buyer looks like this: a clinician has actually diagnosed androgenetic alopecia (thyroid disease, low iron, alopecia areata and medication effects thin hair too, and no light fixes those); the approved drugs are off the table for a real reason — intolerance, interactions, a prescriber's advice — or they're already in use and the cap is an adjunct the clinician knows about; and the price wouldn't hurt if the mirror shows nothing at month six. If that's you, the table above is our best reading of the market. If any of it isn't, the money has better uses — starting with the PRP explainer if a clinic is pitching you injections instead, or a dermatology appointment if nobody has looked at your scalp yet.

Questions people actually ask

Do laser caps work on a receding hairline?
The published trials measured hair counts in marked test areas of the scalp under trial conditions; they were not designed to answer hairline-specific questions, and no trial of the caps on this page has been published at all. Anyone promising hairline results from a cap is ahead of the evidence. A dermatologist can tell you whether your hairline change is androgenetic to begin with.
How long until a laser cap shows results?
The sham-controlled trials ran 16 and 26 weeks before counting — roughly four to six months of consistent use — and measured changes in hair counts, not a transformed mirror. Treat month four as the earliest honest check-in, and be suspicious of any brand promising visible change in weeks.
Are laser caps safe?
The two anchor trials reported no adverse events (Lanzafame 2013) and no serious adverse events (Jimenez 2014) over their four-to-six-month runs. That is genuinely reassuring and genuinely limited: the trials were short and small, and they cannot speak to your medications, your scalp condition or years of use. Ask a doctor first — especially if you take anything that increases light sensitivity.
Is a more expensive cap a stronger cap?
Not on any published evidence. Price in this market tracks diode counts, housings and brand, and no head-to-head trial exists between any two consumer devices. The $1,499 and $899 caps in our table carry the same diode count; the record gives no reason to expect the pricier one to do more for a scalp.
Does insurance cover a laser cap?
We could not verify any general coverage rule, so we won't invent one. The devices are sold direct to consumers at the list prices in our table; if coverage matters to you, the only reliable answer comes from your own insurer in writing.
Why don't you link Capillus?
Because our rule for this category is caution about advertising, and Capillus's advertising has been through an NAD referral to the FTC (staff closing letter, 16 June 2020 — no enforcement recommended, with the FTC noting the closure decided nothing about whether a violation occurred). We name it with that record.